Costs use 26.32p per kWh, the Ofgem price cap, Direct Debit average for England, Scotland and Wales for 1 October to 31 December 2026. Your own tariff may differ. How we calculate.
| Link | |||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Homefront Slimline Electric Clothes Airer | Compact | Not stated | Not stated | 90W | 2.4p | 12p | Amazon (opens Amazon UK in a new tab) |
| Status 230W Winged Heated Airer | Winged | 20 | 15kg | 230W | 6.1p | 30p | Amazon (opens Amazon UK in a new tab) |
| BLACK+DECKER 63091 3-Tier Heated Airer with Cover | Three-tier | 30 | 15kg | 300W | 7.9p | 39p | Amazon (opens Amazon UK in a new tab) |
| BLACK+DECKER 63099 3-Tier Heated Airer | Three-tier | Not stated | 15kg | 300W | 7.9p | 39p | Amazon (opens Amazon UK in a new tab) |
| DrySoon Heated Drying Pod | Drying pod | Not stated | 10kg | 1kW | 26p | £1.32 | Amazon (opens Amazon UK in a new tab) |
Select a column heading to sort.
How long a load takes
Drying time depends on the fabric, how full the airer is, and the room. Five hours is a middle figure for a mixed load on an uncovered airer; thin cotton can be done in two or three, towels and jeans can take longer. A cover traps the heat around the clothes and usually shortens the time. A drying pod is fully covered and far more powerful, so it should need fewer hours, and its per-load figure in the table is likely to be an overestimate.
Heated airer or tumble dryer?
A heated airer uses far less power than a tumble dryer, but it runs for much longer. To compare, find your tumble dryer's energy use per cycle in kWh on its energy label or in the manual, and multiply it by 26.32p. Then compare that with the per-load figure above.