---
title: "Electric blanket and heated throw running costs | Home Comfort Lab"
description: "What electric blankets and heated throws cost per hour, per month and per winter at the current price cap."
url: https://homecomfortlab.co.uk/heating/electric-blanket-running-costs/
---

# Electric blanket and heated throw running costs

What electric blankets and heated throws cost per hour, per month and per winter at the current price cap.

By [Pete Harvey](https://homecomfortlab.co.uk/about/), editor. Updated 14 October 2026.

This page links to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. [More about how this site is paid for](https://homecomfortlab.co.uk/affiliate-disclosure/).

> **The short answer**
>
> A double electric blanket at 120W costs 3.2p an hour on full heat, and a 100W heated throw costs 2.6p an hour. Used three hours an evening all winter, the throw comes to about £14.37.

Costs use **26.32p per kWh**, the [Ofgem price cap, Direct Debit average for England, Scotland and Wales](https://ofgem.gov.uk/news/changes-energy-price-cap-between-1-october-and-31-december-2026) for 1 October to 31 December 2026. Your own tariff may differ. [How we calculate](https://homecomfortlab.co.uk/how-we-calculate/).

Electric blankets

| Model | Size | Power | Per hour | Per month at 1h a day | Heat settings | Auto off | Link |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| TLGREEN Single Electric Underblanket | Single | 100W | 2.6p | 80p | 6 | 8h | [Amazon](https://homecomfortlab.co.uk/go/eb-single-a/) |
| Homefront Premium Fleece Fitted Electric Blanket, Double | Double | 120W | 3.2p | 96p | 9 | 12h | [Amazon](https://homecomfortlab.co.uk/go/eb-double-a/) |
| Homefront Fleece Fitted Electric Blanket, King | King | 120W | 3.2p | 96p | 9 | 12h | [Amazon](https://homecomfortlab.co.uk/go/eb-king-a/) |

Heated throws and wearable blankets

| Model | Type | Size | Power | Per hour | Per month at 3h a day | Auto off | Link |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Beurer HD 75 Heated Throw | Throw | 180 x 130 cm | 100W | 2.6p | £2.40 | 3h | [Amazon](https://homecomfortlab.co.uk/go/ht-throw-a/) |
| Silentnight Comfort Control Heated Throw | Throw | 160 x 120 cm | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 2h | [Amazon](https://homecomfortlab.co.uk/go/ht-throw-b/) |
| Silentnight Snugsie Wearable USB Heated Blanket | Wearable | One size | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | None stated | [Amazon](https://homecomfortlab.co.uk/go/ht-wear-a/) |

## Assumptions

Costs are at full power. On a lower setting most blankets and throws draw less, so these are the most you would pay. The blanket table assumes one hour a day, enough to warm the bed before you get in; the throw table assumes three hours an evening.

[Heating cost per hour](https://homecomfortlab.co.uk/tools/heating-cost-per-hour/): See how a throw or blanket compares with heaters and gas central heating, per hour.

## Read next

- [Best electric blanket and heated throw](https://homecomfortlab.co.uk/heating/best-electric-blanket-and-heated-throw/) (Buying guide)
  How to choose an electric blanket or heated throw, what they cost to run, and the safety features that matter.
- [Heating cost per hour: throw, heaters, gas, oil and heat pump compared](https://homecomfortlab.co.uk/tools/heating-cost-per-hour/) (Calculator)
  Compare the hourly cost of a heated throw, electric blanket, plug-in heaters, and gas, oil, heat pump and electric central heating.
- [Heated airer running costs](https://homecomfortlab.co.uk/heating/heated-airer-running-costs/) (Running costs)
  What heated clothes airers cost per hour and per load at the current price cap, and how that compares with a tumble dryer.
- [Oil radiator vs fan heater vs halogen heater: running costs](https://homecomfortlab.co.uk/heating/oil-radiator-vs-fan-heater-vs-halogen/) (Running costs)
  Which electric heater is cheapest to run, how thermostats change the answer, and which suits which room.

---

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Links to shops are marked, and earning from them never decides what we recommend. [How this site is paid for](https://homecomfortlab.co.uk/affiliate-disclosure/).

Running costs use 26.32p per kWh for electricity and 7.97p per kWh for gas, the [Ofgem price cap, Direct Debit average for England, Scotland and Wales](https://ofgem.gov.uk/news/changes-energy-price-cap-between-1-october-and-31-december-2026) for 1 October to 31 December 2026.
